Australian Science Prizes Calendar

Scroll down to see what prizes and events are coming up.

Loading Events

« All Events

Award Ceremony: AAS Christopher Heyde Medal

December 1, 2019

(Dates are indicative of previous years. Check website for further details)

The Christopher Heyde Medal honours the contributions to mathematics by Professor Christopher Charles Heyde AM, DSc, Hon DSc(Syd), FAA, FASSA. Professor Heyde was the Foundation Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences at the Australian National University, and Professor Emeritus of Statistics at Columbia University, New York. In recognition of Professor Heyde’s broad interests in the mathematical sciences the award is offered in one of three fields on a rotating basis – pure mathematics; applied, computational and financial mathematics; and probability theory, statistical methodology and their applications.

Prize value: $10,000; medal

Eligibility criteria: Scientists – early career; under 40 years old; normally resident in Australia; nominations by colleagues or supervisors; available nationally


Australian Academy of Science
+61 (0)2 6201 9407.