Australian of the Year

Award Ceremony: Senior Australian of the Year

Australia Day Committees in each state and territory decide the recipient of the award on demonstrated excellence in their field, significant contribution to the Australian community and nation, an inspirational role model for the Australian community. Selection panels consider personal, academic and professional achievements, contribution in the relevant field (how has the nominee ‘put back’ into their field to benefit others), demonstrated leadership, personal interests and community involvement, contribution to the Australian community and national innovation and creativity, contribution to development of regional community and/or economy, future goals and likely impact, degree of difficulty of the achievement and sacrifices made, and voluntary work beyond paid employment, nature and length of activity or service.

Prize value: No cash award; trophy

Eligibility criteria: Open to anyone; over 60 years old; must be Australian citizen; self nomination not allowed; available nationally

Nominations Open: 2020 Australian of the Year Awards

Each year our nation celebrates the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia.

The Awards honour an exceptional group of highly-respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

The Australian of the Year Awards provides everyone with the opportunity to recognise any Australian who makes them proud. The four Australian of the Year categories are:

The Awards operate at two levels – State/Territory and national.  State and Territory selection committees select four nominees for each Award category, with one of these nominees being announced as the State/Territory Award recipient.  The National Australia Day Council Board select the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory recipients. Follow the links for more information on the selection criteria and how recipients are chosen.

The prestigious year round program culminates in the announcement of the national Award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

The Australian of the Year Awards is a program of the National Australia Day Council.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards, read about the history of how recipients are chosen.

Nominations Close September/October 2019