Scientists performing at a venue near you – FameLab Australia State Heats

Fresh Science

Lights! Camera! Science! Passionate Aussie scientists are in the spotlight talking science.

No jargon, no lab coats – props, music and poetry optional.

Join us in Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Adelaide for the State Heats of FameLab Australia – a competition that gives early-career researchers the chance to talk about their science in plain English.

But they’ve only got 3 minutes.

The State Heat winners will head to Perth to compete in the FameLab national final in May.

All events are free to attend and all are welcome.

Register your attendance in your state via Eventbrite:

Our State Finalists are:

NSW Finalists

Dr Matt Baker, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute
Mr Jordan Collier, University of Western Sydney
Mr Matthew Collins, CUDOS/University of Sydney
Dr. Graham Doig, University of New South Wales
Mr. Ali Fathi, University of Sydney
Mr Nathanial Harris, University of Wollongong
Mr Steve Krezo, University of Western Sydney
Dr James Makinson, University of Sydney
Mr Andrew Merdith, University of Sydney
Dr Vince Polito, Macquarie University
Dr Lydia Tong, University of Sydney

Qld Finalists

Mr Peter Gous, Centre of Nutrition and Food Science – QAAFI/University of Queensland
Dr Katharine Greenaway, University of Queensland / Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
Ms Anthea King, University of Queensland/University of Copenhagen
Mrs Karishma Mody, The University of Queensland
Ms Saira Mumtaz, James Cook University
Dr Linda Pfeiffer, Central Queensland University
Mr Anton Pluschke, The University of Queensland
Dr  Michael Smout, James Cook University
Dr Kelly Hitchens , University of Queensland/ Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology
Mr Timothy Brennan, University of Queensland/ Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology

SA Finalists (Including ACT and Tas)

Mr M D University of Adelaide
Dr Niraj Lal, Australian National University
Ms Mika Peace, University of Adelaide / Bureau of Meteorology
Dr Sally Potter, Australian National University
Ms Daisy Veitch, TU Delft
Dr Benny Samuel Eathakkattu Antony, Menzies Research Institute Tasmania, University of Tasmania
Mr Nick Roden, University of Tasmania and CSIRO
Miss Lisa Schafranek, SAHMRI

Vic Finalists

Mr James Aridas, Monash University
Mr Matthew Bird, The University of Melbourne
Mr Justin Chen, MIMR-PHI Institute of Medical Research, Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute, Monash University
Mr David Collins, Monash University
Ms Lori Ferrins, Monash University
Ms Melanie Finch, Monash University
Dr Nishar Hameed, Deakin University
Mr. Jared Horvath, University of Melbourne
Dr Katherine Locock, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering Division
Miss Linden Servinis, Deakin University
Dr Kartik Venkatraman, East Gippsland Shire Council

WA Finalists

Ms Jenny Fairthorne, Telethon Institute for Child Health Research and the University of Western Australia
Dr Luke Hopper, University of Notre Dame Australia/Edith Cowan University
Dr Therese O’Sullivan, Edith Cowan University
Mr Francis Torres, University of Western Australia
Mr Mark Zammit, Curtin University
Dr Prue Cormie, Edith Cowan University
Miss Aja Ellis, Curtin University