Women in Science

From 2007 to 2015 we helped L’Oreal Australia & New Zealand set up and operate their For Women in Science program.

For current information about the program go to 

Read all our L’Oréal ANZ profiles since 2007 at our Stories of Australian Science site.

2012 Fellowships to be announced Tuesday 21 August

The 2012 L’Oréal Australia & New Zealand For Women in Science Fellowships will be announced this Tuesday 21 August at the award ceremony in Melbourne starting 6 pm at Comme, 7 Alfred Place. Then on Wednesday 22 August, 300 female high school students will head to the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for the Girls in […]

2011 L’Oréal Fellows update

Tracy Ainsworth, Eve McDonald-Madden and Georgina Such.

The three L’Oréal Fellows for 2011 have been busy since they were announced on 23 August 2011.

Eve McDonald-Madden is in France, working with researchers at the National Institute for Agricultural Research to develop new strategies for the management of the impacts of climate change.

[continue reading…]

New Fellowships for Young New Zealand Women in Science

Issued on behalf of L’Oréal New Zealand

The L’Oréal UNESCO For Women in Science international awards are a world recognised programme, present in 180 countries. For the first time this year, a National Fellowship programme is open to young New Zealand and Australian women scientists, with three NZ$31,737 (AU $25,000) fellowships on offer.
Applications are now open (1 April to 1 May, 2012).

[continue reading…]

One unlucky letter causes an infant epilepsy

A 20 year old mystery was solved this week with the discovery that an epilepsy that affects infants is caused by the change of a single letter in one gene. Seizures in infancy are not rare, but this familial epilepsy occurs in probably 60 families across Australia. It can also cause a movement disorder later in life.
[continue reading…]

Global recognition for Melbourne epilepsy pioneer

Australian paediatric neurologist Professor Ingrid Scheffer is the Asia-Pacific L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Laureate for 2012L’Oréal and UNESCO have just announced that Australian paediatric neurologist Professor Ingrid Scheffer is the Asia-Pacific L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Laureate for 2012.

She is one of five international winners who will each receive US$100,000 in recognition of their contribution to the advancement of science at the Awards Ceremony on 22 March 2012 at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

For more information:

[continue reading…]

L’Oreal Australia: Five women moving science forward

Issued by L’Oreal Australia

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science grants Australian Scientist US$100,000 in one of the world’s most prestigious Science prizes:

The 14th Annual L’ORÉAL-UNESCO For Women in Science Award

Honouring five women who are moving science forward, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science partnership announces its five exceptional women scientists from around the world who will receive the 2012 L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards in Life Sciences.

[continue reading…]